Five Reasons Why V for Vendetta is a Great Comic

Alan Moore is known for his eye opening stories and his graphic novel V of Vendetta was just that. Here’s five reasons why I liked V for Vendetta:

1) It’s Original

I get it, comics and graphic novels are known for people with superpowers with big bubbles that say, “Boom!” or “Pow!” I still do like the idea of it, but I think it’s becoming a little cliché. Sure, V for Vendetta has some sci-fi in it, but I don’t think I could put it in the superhero genre. I also like how it didn’t have to be just the that one person that saved the country from a corrupt government. One person’s voice can help, but when it’s one person against a strong government that has guns, technology, and a large group of people behind them I highly doubt they could take them down on their own.

2) It’s Anymous

People do good deeds everyday and not all of them would be considered news worthy. I like that the main protagonist doesn’t reveal who he is because it just seems like the logical thing to do. If I was trying to destroy a government I wouldn’t want anyone to know who I was. So many movies have the good guys reach the news and they reveal who they are. WHY?! The people that want them dead will learn who they are and then the protagonists will end up in a big mess.

3) It has a Heroine

Let’s face it, when has any heroine in comic books reached the amount of people that Superman or Batman has? It hardly ever happens! The only heroine I remember from my childhood is Wonder Woman. Although V for Vendetta didn’t complete break down this wall, it’s done some damage and it helps to remind us that we don’t have to be a certain person to be a hero. In V for Vendetta however is behind the mask doesn’t really matter as long as that person has morals and fights for what’s right.

4) It’s opened minded

Valerie was my favorite character in the graphic novel. Her personality felt heart warming and sincere. If she was real person, she would be the person I would go to if things weren’t going right in my life. I feel like Valerie is also a symbol, she shows that just because someone is different from someone else, doesn’t make them a bad person. In fact, I think Valeria is far from that. I think just this comic in itself opened the door to a new era. I think this comic as well as other comics helped reach out to the LGBT community so they didn’t feel as alone. Now, I lot of people are openly gay, but this graphic novel was made almost two decades ago so times could have been different.

5) It taught an important lesson

Now days, not everyone remembers that someone loves them. If you feel that way I strongly encourage you to read Valerie’s Letter. I know she isn’t real, but I think Alan Moore put part of himself in his work to make her real. I believe that someone, somewhere loves you even if you don’t love yourself. There is important to know throughout our lives because we go through all kinds of different experiences that might cause us to think differently.

Do you think V for Vendetta was a good comic? Do you think there comics that could have showed these topics better? Let me know what you think in the comments below!

More of Alan Moore’s graphic novels:

The Watchman

The Killing Joke

Other good graphic novels:

Maus

Leave a Reply

