Books I’m Currently Reading

Reading books meme

So I’ve had a few books I’ve been reading and I figured I’d tell everyone what they were even though I haven’t finished them yet. Let me know if you’ve read them before and tell me what you thought about them, this week I should have more time on my hands to get my reading done and I’ll let you know as soon as I’ve finished them. Here’s my list of what I’m currently reading:

1) The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

I’ve probably mentioned this one before, so far I’m at page 152, it’s been a good read, but the book is about three times as long as what I’m used to. It talks about finical journalism, big powerful cooperations that try to destroy anyone that messes with their reputation, a missing person, a family that is rueful to their on kin, and a mysterious girl with a dragon tattoo. There is quite a lot going on, I’m curious to see how it all turns out. If you like books that have a lot going on, I would highly recommend this book to you.

2) The Cabin by Natasha Preston

I’m just over 50 pages into to this book, I still love her books, but recently it has been getting a little repetitive though, the theme in this book is pretty close to the theme in Awake and The CellarThe characters are just switched up and their relations with each other are different. So far The Cabin has been more of a mystery than a thriller, -which is one thing that makes it different from Awake and The CellarHer others books I’ve read put the reader in suspense, she left me hanging onto every word and I want to know if The Cabin will make me feel the same way.

3) Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

I’m yet to get this book, but I have read part of it for my Creative Writing class. It’s more of a mystery book and from what I’ve read, it had quite a bit of layers to it. I also like the characters because their psychical descriptions are a lot different from most of the books I’ve seen. The main characters are a Chinese American family, I think characters with this kind of psychical description are coming of age -and I think it shows that even though we’ve learned to accept different races, I still think the world is yet to accept children that are mixed.

4) In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

So, I’m yet to read this one, but I have read The Women in Cabin Ten. I was left completely clueless as to what would happen next, I was always left wondering how the main character would figure out what was going on. I think I’m going to like this book since it was written by the same author, I can’t wait to see how it plays out and think it will make me a better reader. I’m hoping after reading these books I will be better at finding any subtle foreshadowing in other books and maybe one day finding out what will happen next will become second nature.

5) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I got about 100 pages into this book and I was just flat out bored. I might get back into at some point in my life, but it hardly had any subplots and it just focused on the main part of the story. If it was shorter I might have had more fun reading it, but since there wasn’t much going on it was hard to get through the first part. Maybe I’m not giving the book a fair chance, but when I’m reading I want the wheels in my mind to turn and this book just wasn’t doing that for me.

Leave a Reply

